Ehsaas 8171: A Comprehensive Guide to Pakistan’s Cash Transfer Program

As part of the government’s efforts to provide financial assistance to the most vulnerable sections of society, Pakistan launched the Ehsaas 8171 Emergency Cash program in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The program aimed to provide direct cash transfers to millions of deserving families to help them cope with the economic fallout of the pandemic. This program has since evolved into Ehsaas 8171, a larger initiative that aims to alleviate poverty and inequality in the country.

In this article, we will take a closer look at the Ehsaas 8171 program, its objectives, and its impact.

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. What is Ehsaas 8171?
  3. Objectives of Ehsaas 8171
  4. Eligibility Criteria
  5. How to Register for Ehsaas 8171?
  6. How to Receive Cash Assistance?
  7. Payment Mechanism
  8. Impact of Ehsaas 8171
  9. Challenges and Criticisms
  10. Future of Ehsaas 8171
  11. Conclusion
  12. FAQs


Pakistan is one of the most populous countries in the world, with a significant portion of its population living below the poverty line. The COVID-19 pandemic exacerbated the existing economic challenges faced by vulnerable communities, pushing many further into poverty. To address this issue,

the Pakistani government launched the Ehsaas Emergency Cash program in March 2020. The program aimed to provide cash assistance to over 12 million deserving families, especially daily wage earners, and laborers, affected by the pandemic.

What is Ehsaas 8171?

Ehsaas 8171 is an extension of the Ehsaas Emergency Cash program. The program is designed to provide cash assistance to vulnerable households across the country through a comprehensive digital platform. Ehsaas 8171 is an initiative under the broader Ehsaas umbrella program, which aims to reduce poverty and inequality through a range of social safety net interventions.

Objectives of Ehsaas 8171

The primary objective of Ehsaas is to provide financial assistance to the most vulnerable households in the country. The program aims to reduce poverty and inequality by targeting families that are below the poverty line and lack access to basic necessities such as food, education, and health care. Ehsaas aims to achieve this objective by:

  • Providing unconditional cash transfers to eligible households
  • Creating a comprehensive digital database of eligible households
  • Streamlining the disbursement process through a transparent and efficient payment mechanism
  • Enhancing financial inclusion by providing access to bank accounts to eligible households
  • Creating a safety net for vulnerable communities to cope with economic shocks and emergencies

Eligibility Criteria

The eligibility criteria for Ehsaas are based on poverty scorecards, which are used to identify eligible households. The scorecards take into account several factors, including income, assets, and household characteristics, to determine the level of poverty of each household. The following are the eligibility criteria for ehsaas program cnic check online:

  • The household should have a poverty score of 16 or below
  • The household should not have any member who owns a car, motorcycle, or agricultural land larger than 12.5 acres
  • The household should not have any member who is a government employee or receives a pension
  • The household should not have any member who pays income tax or owns a business registered with the government

How to Register for Ehsaas?

The registration process for Ehsaas 8171 is entirely digital, and eligible households

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *